Chairperson & Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine

Louisville, Kentucky, United States

Job description

Job ID: 34496
Location: School of Medicine

Position Description

Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

The University of Louisville School of Medicine (UofL SOM) (established 1837) invites nominations and applications for the position of Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine. Candidates should have a proven record of operational leadership, strong teaching, clinical, mentoring and research skills as well as demonstrated administrative experience and academic excellence. Candidates should be committed to patient care, faculty development, and research, education of medical students, residents and fellows. A record of teaching, scholarship and service that would merit appointment at the rank of Professor with tenure is required. This appointment will be effective July 1, 2018, following the retirement of Dr. Daniel F. Danzl.

The University of Louisville Hospital is a 404 bed, primary adult teaching hospital for the UofL, SOM. This acute-care tertiary facility is the region’s only Level 1 adult trauma center, comprehensive stroke center and adult burn unit. The emergency medicine department has 43 patient treatment areas in a 30,000 sq. ft. space with an annual census of around 60,000 patients.

The Department of Emergency Medicine, established in 1972 and the 2nd oldest in the country, is committed to excellence in clinical care, education and research. The Department consists of 12 full time and 8 part time faculty and has a mission of patient care, teaching and research. It maintains a 30-resident program and has Fellowships in EMS and Ultrasound. The Department also provides medical direction for a number of EMS agencies, air medical programs as well as Medical Direction for the Kentucky Regional Poison Center. Further information on the Department and its faculty is available at

The department is in a growth phase with future plans to expand the program. The resident compliment will increase by one per year, starting on 7/1/2018. There is currently an Emergency Ultrasound Fellow finishing 6/30/2018 and an ACGME accredited EMS Fellow will start 7/1/2018.

How to apply

Applicants must apply online at for position # 34496 by attaching a current curriculum vitae documenting education, research, and administrative experience. Applicants should also submit a cover letter describing a vision for promotion of Departmental excellence in clinical service, research and teaching (cover letter and CV should be uploaded as one document).

Review of applications will continue until the position is filled.

Equal Employment Opportunity

The University of Louisville is an equal opportunity, affirmative action employer, and is committed to providing employment opportunities to all qualified applicants without regard to race, sex, age, color, national origin, ethnicity, creed, religion, disability, genetic information, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity and expression, marital status, pregnancy, or veteran status. If you are unable to use our online application process due to an impairment or disability, please contact the Employment team at or 502.852.6258.


Only ONE attachment can be uploaded per application. If you wish to include a cover letter or other documents, please combine them as one document with your resume/cv, save the document with a simple short title that contains only letters, spaces, or numbers, and then upload.

Computers are available for application submission at the Human Resources Department located at 1980 Arthur Street – Louisville, Kentucky 40208. If you have any questions or problems please contact, Center for Faculty Personnel – or by phone 502-852-5301
If you require assistance or accommodation with our online application process, you may schedule an appointment at (502) 852-6542 with Employment Services at the Human Resources office located at 1980 Arthur Street, Louisville, KY 40208.

The University of Louisville is a state supported research university located in Kentucky's largest metropolitan area. It was a municipally supported public institution for many decades prior to joining the university system in 1970. The University has three campuses.