Southern Methodist University

Southern Methodist University (SMU) is a private research university in University Park, Texas with a satellite campus in Taos County, New Mexico.SMU was founded on April 17, 1911 by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South—now part of the United Methodist Church—in partnership with Dallas civic leaders.However, it is nonsectarian in its teaching and enrolls students of all religious affiliations. It is classified among “R-2: Doctoral Universities – High Research Activity”.