Texas A&M University Corpus Christi

Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi (Texas A&M–Corpus Christi, TAMU-CC, A&M-Corpus Christi, or A&M-CC) is a public research university in Corpus Christi, Texas. It is part of the Texas A&M University System and classified among “R2: Doctoral Universities – High research activity” TAMU-CC originally opened in 1947 as the University of Corpus Christi, a private university operated by the Baptist General Convention of Texas (BGCT). After the campus was nearly totally destroyed by Hurricane Celia in 1970, the school (which had financial problems since the outset) could not afford to rebuild, and requested the Texas Legislature for assistance. The Legislature approved opening a branch of the Texas A&M University System the following year; UCC would hold its final graduating class in 1973 and BGCT would sell the campus to the State shortly thereafter, retaining 10 acres to maintain a student religious center. Originally named Texas A&I University at Corpus Christi it was later named Corpus Christi State University before joining the Texas A&M University System in 1989 and taking its current name.