Chair, Department of Ophthalmology

Huntington, West Virginia, United States

Job description

The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine is seeking an established board-certified ophthalmologist to assume the highly respected position of Chair, Department of Ophthalmology.

The Chair is responsible for the continued development of the department. Accordingly, the Chair will develop and oversee multidisciplinary teams for clinical treatment, promote and support educational endeavors, organize research initiatives, seek and acquire grants and encourage publications and presentations in prestigious venues nationally.
The department of ophthalmology is a referral center for the diagnosis and treatment of ocular diseases including diabetes, cataracts and macular degeneration. Offering a full array of comprehensive diagnostic services, our surgeons perform more than 3600 surgeries annually including cataract surgery, laser eye correction, laser treatment of glaucoma and diabetes, as well as plastic surgery for lid and brow conditions. The office has a full surgery suite with the newest technology for evaluating retinal disease and corneal disease.

Required Qualifications

The successful candidate for this position will have:
· Medical Licensure in West Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio;
· Board-certified in ophthalmology
· At least fifteen (15) years of experience in the field with a proven track record;
· Demonstrated leadership experience including administrative experience and skills;
· Qualifications to fulfill the Marshall University criteria for a senior level faculty appointment;
· Proven background in faculty recruitment, mentoring and development.
· A nationally distinguished record as an academician, clinician and educator.

Must be able to perform all essential job duties as outlined in the job description.

How to apply

Apply online

Marshall University is an AA/EO employer dedicated to increasing the diversity of its faculty and students. Marshall is a recipient of a NSF-ADVANCE institutional transformation award, which seeks to increase the representation and advancement of women in academic science and engineering careers. Marshall is also part of the NSF-LSAMP: Kentucky West Virginia Alliance for Minority Participation Project to increase both the total number of STEM degrees awarded and the number of STEM degrees awarded to underrepresented students. Successful women and minority applicants can benefit from these programs.

Marshall University is a coeducational public research university in Huntington, West Virginia, United States founded in 1837, and named after John Marshall, the fourth Chief Justice of the United States