Assistant Professor (of African American Literature)



Job description

Boston, MA

English Department

The University of Massachusetts Boston’s English Department invites applications for a tenure-track assistant professor in twentieth-century and/or contemporary African American literature and culture and critical race studies, beginning September 1, 2021. We welcome a range of methodological approaches and are eager to learn about the particular interests and subspecialties that inform candidates’ research and teaching.

The successful candidate will teach undergraduate and graduate courses in African-American literature and gateway courses to the English major, including introductions to literary studies and US literature. This candidate will also develop and teach courses in the English Department’s new Race, Ethnicity, and Literature concentration.

In addition to serving all university undergraduates through our general education programs, our department serves over 350 undergraduate English majors and minors, 80 English MA students, and 30 MFA students in fiction and poetry. As the only public university in Boston, UMass Boston serves the most diverse student body in New England, and the English Department is determined to hire faculty who reflect our student population and whose teaching and scholarship contribute to advancing the study of Black literature as a core competence within the profession. The selected applicant will receive one-to-one mentorship and support throughout their junior faculty years and through the tenure process.

Minimum Requirements: Ph.D. in English or related field. Candidates must have Ph.D. in hand by August 2021.

How to apply

Apply online

Applications must be received online by November 1, 2020. We request that applicants submit a cover letter, CV, and three letters of recommendation. Applicants with questions may contact Susan Tomlinson, the chair of the search committee, at [email protected].

The University of Massachusetts is the five-campus public university system of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The system includes UMass Amherst, UMass Boston, UMass Dartmouth, UMass Lowell, and the UMass Medical School.